Sure feels like this is taking forever =)


The problem is that I am also creating this entirely new engine. I am front loading a BUNCH of work so later it will flow =). Today I will script the audio in and then I want to create a new camera setting node that I can use to render to texture scenes for scene graph effects. I am already doing that with the main scene but my cameras are abstracted out of the graph as they are used for multiple paths into the graph. So that is on the ticket tonight =)….I was able to get all the helper audio last night for the level =).. Things are looking and sounding better all the time =)….

P.S. If you do not read the comments πŸ˜‰
Check out infinity 3 it s by Lightning Strike games who is a regular commenter here =)

O I was going to add that I think I am going to move to depth based shadows. They have way more artifacts BUT are a TON TON TON cheaper…Fill rate is the absolute killer on these devices thus that may take a few days soon. I will get that done with the aesthetics pass that is coming =)..

4 Responses to “Sure feels like this is taking forever =)”

  1. James Says:

    Hey Ryan,
    I recently got the collectors ed. of M:E. I know this is an unrelated blog post but you said the best way to contact you is through your blog, and I didn’t see an email or anything anywhere. Anyways, like so many other, the game crashes all the time for me (every 20 minutes, maybe?) and it makes it really hard to play, as it cancels any quest you were doing and undoes what you’ve done sometimes. I’m running a brand new iPod Touch 4, iOS 5.0.1

    Even if not everybody is having this issue, we’d all *really* appreciate it if you look into it so we can enjoy this incredible game!
    Thanks,
    Cyril

    • ryanmitchellgames Says:

      Wow… I know it has some crashes but that is way to much.. The old engine was just way to many lines of code and not as data driven as my new one. I have not moved to 5.0 yet on my devices and cursed realms and 5.0 is a huge difference. When I move over to 5.0 I will take a look at it ASAP. The last thing I want is unhappy players out there and a crashy game with my name on it. I am hoping I can get to it in a week or two. I just cannot upgrade until I get to a stable point in Cursed realms

      And yes best place to find me. Email is spamorific ….

      Thank you and sorry!

      • Anonymous Says:

        Ah, thanks so much! I probably didn’t understand correctly, but are you going to try to use the Cursed Realm engine in M:E? Thanks (:

        Cyril

      • ryanmitchellgames Says:

        I wish I could but m.e. Engine is structured like the unreal engine and very hard to work with in ways that I did (always learning in thus biz that’s what makes it so fun πŸ™‚ )

        I am going to cease working on cursed realms when I get it stable for a while and pull up mission Europa to work on πŸ™‚ it will probably take a week or so to get it back to apple then I will get back to cursed realms πŸ˜‰

        πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

