In Game Editing! =)


Ok its almost 11 time to start shutting down =).. things are REALLY starting to move!.. I am getting excited. I think I am about 95% of the way to being able to fully work on the game ON my ipad =)… that will be COOL! That will also be a huge step towards the ultimate goal of the players creating the world =)..

Night Night 😉

Update Chasm piece still working on the texture for it but it looks a lot less blocky

hmm like this texture better.. I will have to match the top color better MAYBE.. gameplay would suggest you want to see the empty squares better…

Update: Burning it up =).. here is a bridge piece ruined. Man this pipeline is FAST!

Update: just tossed in some stacked brick like large stones. More fru fru for the level. I will need to make a few more to add some fun to the level I am thinking even a dead tree type structure. An underground tree like thing…. not sure yet. I love getting to asset creation as that is the fun part to me. Making game happen! 😉

I need to turn that light back down it is to bright =)…

I will be working out more bugs tonight but finally I can create the game in game =)…the best way to work in my book. I can see EXACTLY how it will appear to players…Not in some other tool out of engine or even to the side =).. Good stuff! .. I still need to clean a few issues up but after that all is good =). Check out the video =)

More when I get time… day job currently…

14 Responses to “In Game Editing! =)”

  1. lightningstrikegames Says:

    Looking really good. Question though, will the arches be placeable in game by the players? Or will they just be placed beforehand in levels?

    • ryan Says:

      Thanks!

      Not sure yet… I may not release the level editing stuff as they are pretty complex… Or I might after I get episode 4 out when I have time to create instructions.

      Currently the fru fru stuff like arches and ruins will be placed in before hand in specific areas..

      In the future (probably next game ) I want to shoot for a online world all built by the players so the tools would have to take it another step up =).

  2. okan Says:

    when is the release date of the game ?
    and will it work on my ipod touch 2g ?
    ingame name : deluxkilla

    • ryanmitchellgames Says:

      I am hoping to be done in 3 months it all depends how good my tools get 😉 and sadly it will not work on anything that does not support OpenGL es 2.0 and 5.0 iOS. It would take me a lot longer to attempt to support the non OpenGL es 2.0 devices and the game would look pretty bad without shaders ;(

      Thanks for the interest and comment!

  3. Darkredninja Says:

    Whoa it looks good so far 😀

  4. ryanmitchellgames Says:

    Long time no see thanks! It really is going stong I finished a lantern last night I need to get some pic up of it 😉

  5. Anonymous Says:

    nooooooooo..
    i need a new ipod 😀

    • ryanmitchellgames Says:

      Grab me one while your there =P… It is worth it.. I tested Mission Europa on a 3gs… o my is there a difference between iPhone 4s and 3gs .. Like 20x faster.. 😉

      • DarkRedNinja Says:

        There is, was playing Mission Europa on my new ipod4g, it was extremely fast =P, the 2g was fine, major slow down when a crap load of enemies come in xD

      • ryanmitchellgames Says:

        Yessiree try the chicken when you beat it!

  6. okan Says:

    can you say me which programs you used for mission europa ?
    deluxkilla

    • ryanmitchellgames Says:

      Always I love to discuss game stuff here it only makes the games better 😉

      Blender is the 3d modeling app and FREE
      Gimp is the 2d app and FREE

      The rest of the stuff I wrote using standard C with a reluctant sprinkling of objective c which I hate 😉
      (it is easy but sooooooooo slow objective c)

      Any other questions I love talking game 😉

  7. Anonymous Says:

    blender is very complicated….i watch many tutorials…but how u did a ios game with blender datas ???

    • ryanmitchellgames Says:

      I wrote an exporter that took the models in blender and exported them to my own data structures =). Best way to go really. Even better would probably be to read the blender file itself. However, I wanted SPEED and small (but human readable) file sizes so I wrote my own. Look into blender plugins written using python. Lots of information out there. Then I created my own engine using Xcode.. However, there is unity that has all this done for you. The downside is you have to play with someone else’s toys on someone else’s playground. So you will sacrifice speed and creativity a little ;).. great starting place though.

Leave a Reply

