Diablo 3 impressions after a very long play session…like my opinion matters =P….


I 100% agree with Kirk. Diablo 1-2 are still good games. Diablo 1-2 still looks pretty good as it used pre rendered graphics. The team that made the original Diablo was way more into it if you ask me.

You can view them here =)
http://us.battle.net/d3/en/media/videos/?keywords=&view#/retrospective

There was a true love there. This Diablo 3 feels VERY VERY VERY bleached commercial clean. I find myself feeling like I am playing W.O.W. on every level. I really seriously forget it is diablo. From the timer cool downs to the baby cartoon graphics with a little blood here and there. You will notice in the original Diablo you did not have timers. You have mana, health, and potions. I think that is what SUCKS in diablo 3. In Diablo 1-2 you could just go absolutely BALASTIC, NUCLEAR, BAT S___ NUTS at the expense of all of your potions. The cool down on potions is R-E-T-A-R-D-E-D as it retards your characters nuclear abilities. Thus you could store up for a skin peeling attack and really have fun. In D3 the timers hold you back and limit you. Even with the potion overload it was way easier to die in the original. Another huge detraction is the artwork. The artwork in Diablo 3 just does not fit the story at all. This is HELL PEOPLE….

Orignal Butchers room:

New Butchers Room:

The new one hellish and scary… nope… I just do not feel like I am fighting the powers of hell at ALL. Right now I am after the witch and she looks like a fairy tale.

Is that scarier then Mephesto!

NO way in HELL…. -=(

Heck check out this… it compares to the modern Diablo 3 where you also cannot move the Camera

Got potions? I hope so… got timers and cool downs? I hope not!

Imagine if the original team had the power of modern computing and graphics cards. What an amazing thing that team could make. Anyway I will keep playing as it is moderately fun. I do not think it deserves the name Diablo though. In the past diablo was SO FAR ahead of the competition. Hell it still got a patch 9 YEARS after its release!. Released in 1996 here is some of the RPG competition..

Dragon realms!

Final Fantasy was better back then also 😉

YIKES… yes we played these -)

Yeap….We have come a long way sadly Diablo has not. ;/

Day Job time then back to Cursed Realms.

8 Responses to “Diablo 3 impressions after a very long play session…like my opinion matters =P….”

  1. Hellspawn Says:

    well I have only played diablo 2 (which i loved!) and not 3 but if those are the screenshots ugh … it looks like yet another great classic was destroyed to exploit money (e.g. warcraft 2 -> 3 also Blizzard)

  2. Deathrow Says:

    Ryan, why did you have to do that. Whyyy? You posted screens from D2 and now the itch has come back. Mef runs, baal runs, cow levels, my bowazon (pre 1.10 mind you) distributing death one guided arrow at a time with the unholy might of the Windforce. Now all I’m thinking is how I want to go back to that dark, damp yet atmospheric and gripping world. And yes, Blizzard sold out years ago. The “merge” with Activision was just the last nail the coffin ( but Bobby Kotick is still Satan and deserves to be burned on the bonfire). Everything is now money to them. No love, no dedication. Thats why I love the Appstore-there are tons of games made by up and coming developers. Games that ooze love and caring. And your games are just that, Ryan. I know cursed realms will be something special. And also, there is another game on the appstore that is brutally overlooked- Dangerous:Null space. Yes, I commit one of the worst crimes, advertising one indie game on the board of another. But those guys made the deepest and most competent space sim on the platform. Despite the game’s underwhelming sales, they still rolled out 8(!) updates within 3 months. And they really deserve some light. You should try the game Ryan. All the game needs is some spit and polish. I’m sorry for the long post and raving so much about another game, but the fact that the game is unknown, while that simpleton galaxy on fire is featured on all the sites is making me sad. Anyways, have a great weekend and productive development

    P.S. Btw, don’t know if you know, but there is an option hidden away in the D3 menus. Its called Elective mode. With it you can change they key bindings and more freely arrange the available spells. This might help a bit

    • ryan Says:

      Man I have nothing against advertising other indies =) I am going to buy right now. I was not thrilled with galaxy on fire 2… In fact I probably played it an hour at most. Thanks for the compliment and I feel the same way. The smaller indies are where innovation is. I think with the tools becoming available we will be able to truly compete with the big boys because we can do brave NEW things with little risk. Man they blew it with diablo 3. . . and starcraft really. World of warcraft sucked my life but mainly because it was the only compitent mmo out there. not that it was fun.
      I hope to get some serious work done in the coming weeks and make Cursed Realms something really special =)… With you guys input I hope! =)

    • Hellspawn Says:

      wonderfull speech deaththrow, (are you author, if not it looks like you would be great at it), you just made my day and i willl definitly try null space

  3. ryan Says:

    o and lol those screens give me the itch also lol…. Man they need to release diablo 2 on ipad. It is more then capable…. but then again cursed realms may never get created. . 😉

    When I worked one of my game company jobs me an d a friend started us some diablo 2 and played through again to hell and beyond… we really still enjoyed it =)

    Of to grandmas!

  4. Ethical Video Games (@EthicalGaming) Says:

    Didn’t visit the blog in a while and just found this post 🙂
    Personally I quite enjoyed Diablo 3… until reaching level 60, which was rather quick.
    Then the Auction House killed the fun for me.
    After purchasing some overkill gear (with just in-game gold), I couldn’t find anything coming close in the game itself, meaning the quest for items –which is the point of the game after max. level– didn’t make any sense.
    They could maybe fix it with bound-on-pickup items (which you can’t sell in the AH), but now I don’t feel so excited about the game anymore.

    And I partially agree on the artistic direction; although I reckon it’s beautiful, it’s not really fitting to the original Diablo atmosphere.

    • ryanmitchellgames Says:

      I burned out quick… Sad I played d2 and d2 to Death .. The scientific approach to the gameplay killed d3 for me… Being able to be smart and totally kick ass was diablo 2 and 1 … D3 was an extension of wow… An amusement park ride where you can only advance at a set and very designed pace…… This style will end …..no
      One likes being a pawn….

  5. Russell Kennedy Says:

    My developer is trying to convince me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using WordPress on numerous websites for about
    a year and am concerned about switching to another platform.
    I have heard excellent things about blogengine.net. Is
    there a way I can transfer all my wordpress posts into
    it? Any kind of help would be really appreciated!

Leave a Reply

