Working on the weapon systems.


I had a big computer problem yesterday so I did not get to much time. I think I can create a weapon in 1-3 hours after my templates are finished. Here is one about half way done and 1:45 minutes in or so. I have to create new ones since ME1 was so low res.

You can see how it works. The stock is one area of the texture. The barrel is another section on the top and the mid section is the larger base for the rifles. The texture is loaded and created when the item is created in game. The model is also combine thus it is one batch or draw call. MUCH faster. Say I have 20 enemies on screen each with 2 weapons. That would be 120 draw or batch calls… With this method it is 40. MUCH faster…

Screen Shot 2014-10-29 at 10.37.40 AM

Then displace by 0.015 and subdivide 2 levels as simple then 4 levels as catman for smoother edges.

Lastly Sculpt it! Top right you will then see a normal map. No ususally I use crazy bump with a displacement as it is a GREAT normal mapper.

Screen Shot 2014-10-29 at 11.25.22 AM

Screen Shot 2014-10-29 at 3.33.41 PM

Leave a Reply

