Shader fun


Here is my work into the blending shader for the ice and snow. This is before I use a normal map alpha channel to create a more noisy natural blend I ll post the final in a bit..

Screen Shot 2014-11-20 at 11.20.49 AM

With normal map alpha helping transition…I might just make it automatic with up facing vector accumulating snow.. I think I will try that first then I would not have to paint anything =)

SWEET!

Now I have a shader that AUTOMATICALLY adds snow to up facing surfaces:

As seen below:

Screen Shot 2014-11-20 at 3.18.45 PM

When rotated the snow now is on top the model… NO MORE PAINTING SURFACES FOR ICE FOR ME =)

Screen Shot 2014-11-20 at 3.19.05 PM

One last thing I have to add is specualr which will be stored in the main textures alpha channel =)

10 Responses to “Shader fun”

  1. Princeofkilts Says:

    Hello! This message is more of a sum up of everything you have done before, and it’s because you have put so much work into not only your games, but your blogs. I don’t want you to feel that they are not being read. You truly go above and beyhond for your readers.

    I have to say, when I first played Europa a year ago, I was shocked at how you made such an interesting game. Sure, some of the abilities and spells were confusing, some enemies randomly killed you in one hit, maybe a manual with the game wouldn’t hurt, but so much about the game was different. It wasn’t just the Doom like vibe that it had, but so much more.

    What it really feels like to me is that it’s a mobile Borderlands of sort with a wide range of random, interesting passives and spells. I don’t think you ever explain why guns and random magical death cannons can shoot out of your hands, but does it matter? Not really. There’s a lot of loot, and a lot of enemies to kill. You pretty much made a Doom/Borderlands hybrid, and I can only dream of how many thousands of hours you put into the game. What made you want to put so much time in this game? I really don’t think it’s even remotely as popular as it should be. I never beat it, but I had so much fun with it. I tried to play it again recently, but all I get is a green screen. I assume it’s in iOS 8 limbo?

    What I want to say most importantly is that you’re an incredible programmer, and Europa 2, from what I’ve seen, looks jaw dropping. Processing power has gone a long way for the iphone, and it clearly shows. Weather it comes out in a year or two, know I’ll be there to pick it up. Do you have any generalized idea as to what iphone you need to run the sequel?

    Be proud of yourself. You’ve created a damn good, unique, special game. Maybe slightly confusing at times, but a damn good game. There’s nothing like it.

    • ryanmitchellgames Says:

      Wow..thanks sir! Again that is the rocket fuel that fuels the late nights of making what I call my passion. DIFFERENT games that only indie devs can take the risk on. At the rate this is going currently ME2 could be 4-6 months away maybe shorter. Unity has taken 7/10 of the work load off of me and allowed me to make the game not all the little bitty numerous systems that run a game. ME1 is back in for review at apple for the new ios 8. It was tested and should be good now. Apple again changed some lower level stuff I had to adapt to. Unity will do that for me thank God. Until testing begins on the ios I cannot tell what phones yet but it will be the widest range I can.

      Please feel free to throw suggestions and ideas as ME2 progresses!

      And thanks again so much for the kind words it really provides the energy to keep the grind on!

      What makes me work so hard… these comments =)

      • Princeofkilts Says:

        I could never program, but I am a writer who is happy to have the small group of followers that I have reading my fantasy fiction. I write to improve myself, but to also entertain and make people laugh. When people post paragraph comments on chapters or an entire page to sum up the story I wrote, that feeling on the inside is magical. The least I could do is make you feel the same way. I don’t know if making games like this is your livihood or not, but it doesn’t matter; you deserve to know that what you created with Europa one gave me dozens of hours of entertainment that sixty dollar games never did. Truly, pat yourself on the back. You’ve done a damn good job. What you have shown to us, and how much you keep us updated, really shows where your passions lie.

        Seriously, when I got the game, I watched a YouTube video of people playing it. I bought it around a year ago, and of course I knew it was a much older game than what could run on an iPhone 5, but I didn’t care. It looked interesting, and you didn’t disappoint. I’m sorry that I can’t recall abilities on the top of my head, but I remember having half a dozen on my finger tips. Self heals, passives, some fire ball, and I swear, some massive, twirling, red and black beam that shook the entire screen that I could use every sixty seconds and made this thunderous roar. I remember nearly one shotting a level boss with it. It was genius.

        That’s it for length? Awesome. Again, feel no rush from me. If it takes until next Christmas, it does. I’d rather have a polished product than a rushed one. I’d rather have you put in as many of your ideas as you can than cut them for time sake.

        I know zero about coding, but has Unity truly made it that much easier? Can you put in everything that you want to put into E 2?

        I’ll try to download Europa 1 again, but so far it’s given me a green screen and isn’t on the App Store. Only on the update screen.

        I don’t want to ask too many questions you may have anything answered. What major changes should we except, other than it’s really pretty? My only major suggestion is some minor guide for new players. It doesn’t even have to be in game. A couple of pages on your website would be enough. What iphone are you aimming for as a minimum for Europa 2?

      • ryanmitchellgames Says:

        My aim for devices would be an iphone 4 for a good frame rate. As far as new things, I have a ton of ideas.. I really want to have a random scripted sequence generator that makes interesting story asides. IE you touch a hidden detector that spawns a person yelling over an intercom of a beast on its way and to run… choose or not to run and find out what happens etc. And yes unity is childs play to use. I have never used an engine so easy to mold. I have worked in all the major engines out there and so far this is y far my favorite. The only weakness Ihave found is I do not have true access to the source.. thus I must work in much slower high level languages. Being that I am a one man band this truly is the only way it could be in the future. Also at some point it really will not matter. The high level languages will rule and the processing strengths will make it not matter anymore.

        Thanks again!

        ME1 is in for review I will post here when it and necromancer rising are both upgraded and put out by apple.

    • Sandro Says:

      Princeofkilts, you take your words out of my mind… i’m a follower of this blog too, but normaly i don’t write here because my bad english. But you say all i think too. I’ve played dozens of hours in ME, even though I never finished it. The atmosphere is just outstanding, the looting incredible. Bought the Collector Edition.

      Thanks @Ryan to bring back this gem to iOS8. Like your kind of communication. And i look forward to ME2, this will be an instabuy for me, of course.

  2. Princeofkilts Says:

    Will it be I-phone only? Not that that matters either, considering taking Europa 1 – and especially Europa 2 – on the go to have fun is superb. Would the graphics scale with the phone? This is a valid reason for me to upgrade from the 5 to the 6, simply for the additional screen size. For a game like this, every bit of space counts!

    I like that idea of random little events like that. Can I shoot him and the beast, seeing if he has something loot filled? Wow, I’m such an ass! I’m a massive Borderlands fan. What was the inspiration for Europa 1? Any for 2? And I’m so glad that Unity is so easy for you to use. Should we expect the same hardcore RPG, loot filled experience of Europa 1? I love that Morrowwind level of detail. Too many stats for me to change, upgrade, skills to use, or guns to choose from? Impossible.

    What do you expect the download size to be? I’d say really the only thing I’d suggest is maybe a more in-depth tutorial, either in game or on your website. What each stat does, etc.

    And thank you for getting back to me so quickly. I didn’t even expect a single reply!

    • ryanmitchellgames Says:

      Will it be I-phone only?
      –I hope with unity to bring it to mac,pc,ios,android… IOS FIRST

      I like that idea of random little events like that. Can I shoot him and the beast, seeing if he has something loot filled? Wow, I’m such an ass! I’m a massive Borderlands fan. What was the inspiration for Europa 1? Any for 2? And I’m so glad that Unity is so easy for you to use. Should we expect the same hardcore RPG, loot filled experience of Europa 1? I love that Morrowwind level of detail. Too many stats for me to change, upgrade, skills to use, or guns to choose from? Impossible.
      –ME predates Borderlands at least in inception =)… I think we both drew from diablo. Yes LOOT is the diving factor but with a damn good story and arc. Yes sometimes running might be better but if you have the skill loot will be better on meaner baddies.

      What do you expect the download size to be? I’d say really the only thing I’d suggest is maybe a more in-depth tutorial, either in game or on your website. What each stat does, etc.
      — No idea really I am sure it will exceed 250 megs. And a website tutorial will be there I had a video for ME1 but a FAQ maybe better for 2.

      And thank you for getting back to me so quickly. I didn’t even expect a single reply!
      — I live here =)… comment all you like I love the interaction while I work.

  3. Princeofkilts Says:

    Grand! I’ll of course get it on IOS, and whatever you price it at doesn’t matter for me. I know you’ll make something fantastic, as you always do. If you release it on Windows – and I assume Steam if you go that route? – I’ll heavily consider repurchasing it there and livestreaming it for people. Don’t care if I lose the save. Being able to WASD and have a mouse will make shooting so much easier, not to mention keys for inventory and such. Plus, left and right click for dual wielding.

    Which only means that you thought of Borderlands before it was cool. And diablo with guns and in first person, which is absolutely genius. And of course, loot.

    As for story? It’s been so long, so I don’t remember much other than how it became more and more like Hell as the levels went down, and how you liked to scare the crap out of me. Sometimes random screaming, corpses, blood, guts. You really liked your gore. Which is no problem! I liked reading about how scientists and workers were being corrupted and experimented on. I can’t wait to dive back into the game soon. If it’s up in a week, I know what I’m doing in the car ride!

    I’ll play the game again when it comes back, but I remember not trying to Master Chief it, which I enjoyed. Maybe I didn’t grind enough in some levels, but sometimes it did feel like there were Demon Souls level spikes at times, even when you were running around and dodging. I did switch weapons and skills as needed, and I loved how you mixed melee, guns, laser cannons, and shields together, including dual wielding guns or melee weapons! All of them could be effective at the right time. Plenty a gun fight was lived through by a tower shield and grenade launcher. You deserve a lot of praise for making it balanced like that. Will Europa 2 contain all of the above combos? Any surprises in store?

    Size isn’t a matter, just curious. And a FAQ is just fine. And as long as I don’t bother you or write too big of posts. I just REALLY want to stress how great of a game you made in Europa 1, and be proud you made me get dozens of hours out of it.

    • ryanmitchellgames Says:

      ME2 wll be better then one. =) I now with unity hae the tools to put all my efforts into gameplay… and heck yea dual weilding saw machine guns into battle..
      As far as story the aliens were experimenting into teleportation ala doom but their gates trapped them.. Your right in the idea of descending into hell just wait for ME2 =)

      • Princeofkilts Says:

        If there is anything Doom has taught us, it’s that 50 caliber machine guns with hundred bullet drums are things demons and aliens just don’t like most of the time. Sure, they don’t like angelic weaponry, but sometimes, a lot of lead poisoning solves a lot of your problems. Realism with carrying both? Realism of carrying one and a massive tower shield in the other hand to block other bullets as you return fire? Overated! We’re using their powers to kick butt ourselves.

        Thank you for reminding me! Will being able to teleport to each level be in the sequel as well? I remember being able to skip a level or two due to finding exceptional gear. Or just go to level forty to see how much the levels change. Will there be fifty levels again? And I’m looking at the wiki now with weapons. Oh man, so many memories. I loved the crossbows! Any other weapon surprises you have in store? Two handed weapons?

Leave a Reply

