Last items on the ice shader


Update:

A little more tweaking and colored verticies. Somethings up with my jpg converter its coming out to blue here as opposed to in engione

Screen Shot 2014-11-22 at 1.01.59 PM

Update:

A boon for the ice shader… See how the hill fades automatically to the snow at the base! ..That saves me texturing and painting all objects to fade them =)

Screen Shot 2014-11-22 at 12.30.42 PM

update:

Well we needed a better looking ice so I altered it while making the level =-)

Screen Shot 2014-11-22 at 11.10.53 AM

Screen Shot 2014-11-22 at 11.10.37 AM

All done for now.. Now to create the level =)…

Here are some in editor shots of the shader… the more vertical the normal (worldspace) the more snow.. the less more ice.

Screen Shot 2014-11-22 at 10.58.54 AMScreen Shot 2014-11-22 at 10.59.08 AM

I had to get down to the most low level area of the shader (just above assembly). However, I now know the connections to Unity and CG shader language pretty fluently. It is really about knowing the fundamentals of how games work, Vector Math, Matrix Math, The concepts of lighting etc. Then you just have to find the knobs and switches. Things do not change much they just get easier to debug and access at higher levels. The biggest change has been the programmable pipeline for vertex and fragment shaders. However, this change just moved what you were doing on the cpu to the gpu… Again you just had to learn how the knobs and buttons turned and were pushed ;)…

I ll post when I finally finish the shader. Then I will finish the level with the pieces and not the Unity terrain system.

One Response to “Last items on the ice shader”

  1. Princeofkilts Says:

    Out of interest, do you have any general idea what the shader processing power of each of the phones are, and how do you test that in the unity engine? What kind of frames per second are you aimming for?

    All I know is that if you port this to PC, I think my GTX 770 will be overkill, lol. I really do plan on live streaming it if or when you put it to pc. I’d love to get my Planetside outfit to try this game out. What kind of multiplayer are you expecting?

Leave a Reply

