Ok I am going to go ahead and hand make the levels myself with rooms I create. So I will be doing the randomizing. I have just had FAR to many problems with the levels auto generating. Unity does not seem to like this without a LOT of re-hashing. I personally think I will like creating the levels by hand anyway as I will be able to hand craft some items. I have wasted DAYS trying to get this or that to play nice with generated levels. The last hurdle is lightmaps and bringing in a level then offsetting it pre-run. The lightmaps got screwy…. So now it is time to create level one and quit with all the back and forth =).. I am going to make some more rooms. Then I will look into occulusion culling baking (Another thing that does not work with loading additive levels. ) . This will REALLY help. So off I go to make some cool rooms! After I get 5 rooms done I will put them together in a level and off we go to the story manager which will still be random or guided in my plans. IE everytime you play the level will switch around a little.

More later!…looks like a good work night tonight.

2 Responses to “”

  1. prototypicalname Says:

    It’s a shame that auto-generation didn’t work out especially seeing how much time you invested into it. I do like the way that now you’ll be able to put more interesting aspects to the levels. Keep up the good work and I hope everything works out well! šŸ˜€

    • ryanmitchellgames Says:

      Thanks… I think the time investment to go with autogen would far exceed me making the level. šŸ˜‰ Thanks!

Leave a Reply

