Welp Unreal it is


I cannot trust unity they already caused a major rewrite removing tools to a much higher priced version years ago. That made me just stop. Unreal has not and will not change supposedly. And in my opinion the only advantage of unity is C# and fast iterations. I have been learning the latest unreal engine the last few days and I am pushing forward with Mission Europa 2.0 VR.

So far so good. The tools are great and really it is the same concept as Unity. A lot better then when I was working at 2015 and created the first in engine lightmapper with Jon Olick. (Miss that guy I need to find him.) So far so good and it has assets that will make my life much easier. I will be in the process of moving from unity to Unreal for a little bit here. But I am for once again really excited. The lighting in Unreal is INSANELY better. I am also a fan of c++ for speed albeit the cavoite of dangerous code that can arise. Anywho… back at it!

4 thoughts on “Welp Unreal it is

  1. Hey! I’m really glad to see you’re still working on games and active, Mission Europa was one of the most memorable games I played as a child with an early iPad (it was kind of like my very own System Shock 2 since I was a bit too young to know about System Shock 2 I guess lol) and I really loved playing it, is there any copies floating about I could run on my iPhone 7 or even emulate? I really want to play it again, but I know Apple support for older software is beyond abominable, so I understand if it’s not feasible. I’m looking forward to seeing what Mission Europa 2 has in store!

  2. Hey Ryan it’s great to hear you are back on making this game! Just wanna say thank you very much for making these wonderful games, I’ve spent countless hours on both Mission Europa and Necromancer Rising as a child and they were great memories. If you have time please have a look see if you can make these two games playable again, whether on phone or pc, would love to support you and your future efforts!

  3. Oh man I am really excited to see any progress. I would love to see a re-release of ME1 (maybe for some additional funding) but I am hella excited for any news on ME2!

Leave a comment